Sociologist, local councillor, activist, drummer from Malta

Saturday, July 26, 2014

University of Malta academics in solidarity with the people in Gaza

We, the undersigned academics from the University of Malta, join the call of seven Peace Nobel Prize winners, intellectuals and artists from the whole world for a military embargo towards Israel ( )

Military trade and joint military-related research relations with Israel embolden Israeli impunity in committing grave violations of international law and facilitate the entrenchment of Israel’s system of occupation, colonisation and systematic denial of Palestinian rights. We call on the UN and governments across the world to take immediate steps to implement a comprehensive and legally binding military embargo on Israel, similar to that imposed on South Africa during apartheid.

We, the undersigned, appeal to the Government of Malta to condemn the Israeli aggression on Gaza. We also affirm our support to the Palestine Solidarity Network (Malta), a group of organisations and individuals active against the systematic oppression and dispossession of the Palestinian population at the hands of the Israeli state and its allies. The network works for:

• an end to Israeli occupation and colonization

• the right of Palestinian refugees to return to their homes and lands, as stipulated by the 194 UN resolution.

• the dismantling of the current Apartheid system that, with its practices of segregation and institutional racism, is denying the fundamental human rights of Palestinians in the Occupied Territories and of Palestinian citizens of Israel

• Israeli compliance with international law

1. Clare Azzopardi
2. Jacqueline Azzopardi
3. Joseph Azzopardi
4. Mario Azzopardi
5. Claire Azzopardi Lane
6. Ruth Baldacchino
7. Carmel Borg
8. MaryAnn Borg Cunen
9. Charles G. Bonello
10. Michael Briguglio
11. Maria Brown
12. Ernest Cachia
13. Colin Calleja
14. Isabelle Calleja Ragonesi
15. Frank Camilleri
16. Rene Camilleri
17. Censu Caruana
18. Carmel Cassar
19. George Cassar
20. Joanne Cassar
21. Arnold Cassola
22. John Chircop
23. Philip Ciantar
24. Marilyn Clark
25. Paul Michael Clough
26. Maureen Cole
27. Natasha Cordina
28. Mary Darmanin
29. Mark Debono
30. Angele Deguara
31. Katya De Giovanni
32. Andreana Dibben
33. Edward Duca
34. Neil Falzon
35. Ruth Falzon
36. Ruth Farrugia
37. Giuliana Fenech
38. Albert Gatt
39. Isabelle Gatt
40. Lou Ghirlando
41. Joe Gravina
42. Michael Grech
43. Adrian Grima
44. Anna Khakee
45. Peter Mayo
46. Robert Micallef
47. Dione Mifsud
48. Immanuel Mifsud
49. Josephine Milton
50. Matthew Montebello
51. Brenda Murphy
52. Marceline Naudi
53. Charles Pace
54. Paul J. Pace
55. Maria Pisani
56. Claudia Psaila
57. Giuseppe Schembri Bonaci
58. Pierre Schembri Wismayer
59. Claire Shoemake
60. Doreen Spiteri
61. Ronald G. Sultana
62. Nadia Theuma
63. Joseph Troisi
64. Vasilis Valdramidis
65. Marie Louise Vella
66. Olvin Vella
67. Yosanne Vella
68. Valerie Visanich
69. Anna Zammit
70. Clive Zammit
71. David Zammit
72. Anthony Aquilina
73. Joseph Falzon
74. Joseph Axiaq
75. Clare Vassallo
76. Rachel Radmilli
77. Duncan Mercieca
78. Daniela Mercieca
79. Marco Galea
80. Courtland Lee
81. Shaun Grech
82. Stefano Moncada
83. Mark Camilleri
84. Alex Grech
85. Nicholas Sammut
86. Carmen Sammut
87. Liana Vella Zarb
88. Patricia Paggio
89. Noel Agius
90. Gordon Pace

No comments: